Vinification

The cellar master at Château Phélan Ségur gives the greatest respect to these grapes born of a terroir of ageless nobility. Elegance is his obsession, rigorous demands and integrity his course of action.

Vinification

The know-how of the cellar master

Cellar master Fabrice Bacquey preserves this noble raw material that is the grape. He must respect the style of the property by expressing the best the vintage has to offer.

Fabrice Bacquey

The grapes are harvested manually with the utmost care and optimum ripeness when nature allows. Transport to the manual and vibrating sorting tables is done in small crates. The final selection is made by optical sorting used since 2011.

Vendages cases
Sorting table

Precision vinification

Fermentation takes place over a dozen days, punctuated by regular pumping over, rack-and-return and punching down, specific to each batch, thus favouring the extraction of phenolic compounds in the wine. Then comes the critical phase of maceration over about twenty days, where the objective is to continue the extraction. The wine is tasted daily to decide the optimum date for running off. The 39 tanks allow for this precision vinification and are the basis for the future selections for blending. Steady development started in 2010 has allowed the addition of 8 tanks of 45 hl to the vat room, further improving the interpretation of the work within parcels that takes place in the vineyard.

The magic of blending

After pressing and the separation of the free-run and press wines, they are “casked”; now stored in barrels, they can begin their malolactic fermentation in the warm atmosphere of the cellars. The wines take on more suppleness and roundness and rest through the winter.

The long task of blending begins at the end of winter and consists in rigorous tasting of each batch; it is at this stage that the selection is made with the invaluable assistance of Michel Rolland, consultant oenologist. Some batches are chosen to go into the blend for the Grand Vin of Château Phélan Ségur, while others are destined for the second wine Frank Phélan or for La Croix Bonis.

The final blend for the Grand Vin is then presented “to the world” in April during the en primeur tastings.

Running off
Blending

A philosophy of wine

Beyond the purely technical knowledge required for vinification, it is a philosophy of wine, a palate forged by years of tasting and a perfect complicity with the evolution over time of the wines of the terroir of Phélan Ségur that makes the difference.

ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

Château Phélan Ségur

La vinification

Le Maître de chai du Château Phélan Ségur apporte le plus grand respect à ces raisins nés d’un terroir à la noblesse éternelle. L’élégance est son obsession, l’exigence et l’intégrité, sa ligne de conduite.

La vinification

Le savoir-faire du maître de chai

Fabrice Bacquey, Maître de chai préserve cette noble matière première qu’est le raisin. Il lui faut respecter le style de la propriété en exprimant au mieux le millésime.

Fabrice Bacquey

Le raisin est  récolté manuellement avec le plus grand soin et à une maturité optimum quand la nature le permet. Son acheminement vers les tables de tri manuelle et vibrante se fait en petites cagettes. L’ultime sélection est opérée par  tri optique utilisé depuis 2011. Le foulage qui suit, est délicat.

Vendages cases
Sorting table

Vinification de précision

La fermentation se déroule sur une dizaine de jours rythmés par les remontages, délestages ou pigeages réguliers et spécifiques à chaque lot favorisant ainsi le passage des composés phénoliques dans le vin. Vient ensuite la phase critique de la macération pendant une vingtaine de jours dont l’objectif est la poursuite de l’extraction. Le vin est dégusté quotidiennement afin de décider de la date optimum d’écoulage. 39 cuves permettent cette vinification de précision et la base des sélections futures pour les assemblages. L’évolution tranquille initiée à partir de 2010 a permis d’adjoindre au cuvier 8 cuves de 45 hl qui améliorent encore l’interprétation du travail intra parcellaire réalisé à la vigne.

La magie de l’assemblage

Après le pressurage et la séparation des vins de goutte et de presse, il est procédé à l’ « entonnage »; maintenant logés en barriques, ils peuvent débuter leur fermentation malolactique dans l’atmosphère réchauffée des chais. Les vins vont gagner en souplesse et rondeur et se reposer tout l’hiver.

Le long travail d’assemblage débute en fin d’hiver et consiste en une dégustation rigoureuse de chaque lot; c’est à cette étape que se faitla sélection avec l’aide précieuse de Michel Rolland, œnologue conseil. Certains lots sont appelés à entrer dans l’assemblage du Grand Vin du Château Phelan Ségur, d’autres destinés au second vin Frank Phelan, ou encore à La Croix Bonis.

L’assemblage final du Grand Vin est alors présenté « au monde » en avril lors des dégustations primeurs.

Running off
Blending

Une philosophie du vin

Au-delà des connaissances purement techniques que requiert la vinification, c’est une philosophie du vin, un palais forgé par des années de dégustation et une parfaite connivence avec l’évolution dans le temps des vins du terroir de Phélan Ségur qui font la différence.

ssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

Château Phélan Ségur