In the land of Saint-Estèphe

The vineyard of Château Phélan Ségur covers 70 hectares of magnificent clay-gravels on the hillocks and plateaux of Saint-Estèphe.

In the land of Saint-Estèphe

Texte uniquement pour créer un espace et équilibrer la page

Hand harvesting
Gravels

CABERNET SAUVIGNON, THE KING OF GRAPE VARIETIES

Made up of four large sections, the parcels adjoin the vineyards of Châteaux Montrose and Calon Ségur, among others. The planting density is high. The mix of grape varieties is original: the talented duo of the Médoc (58% Cabernet Sauvignon and 39% Merlot) are complemented by a touch of Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot (1.5% of each). Cabernet Sauvignon, the king of Médoc grape varieties, brings incomparable power and structure: it is the backbone of the Grand Vin.

 

DIVERSITY OF GRAPE VARIETIES

Merlot expresses an attractive roundness and unrivalled suppleness. To preserve diversity and bring a hint of spice, Petit Verdot made its entry to the property in 2015. It excels on heavier soils where clay dominates. It is a vigneron’s variety, impetuous and requiring perfect control. Cabernet Franc, which has always had its place at the Château, is a precious asset in the blend, with its finesse and floral notes.

1- Humus-rich gravels at Fontpetite (summit of the hillocks)

2- Clay gravels at Chanchot

 

3- Sandy gravels at Fontpetite (middle of the slopes)

Overlooking the Gironde

The estuary on the horizon

 

The Médoc, characterised by the mild temperate maritime climate, offers ideal conditions of a seasonal cycle that is sufficiently marked to accompany the annual growth of the vine and mild enough to attenuate climatic excesses. The vines at Château Phélan Ségur are close to the estuary: this situation protects them from hard winters and summers that are sometimes very hot.

The complexity of the terroir of Saint-Estèphe, of which Château Phélan Ségur is a perfect illustration. It is made up of a thick layer of gravel deposited by the river, a few hundred thousand years ago. The pebbles and above all the gravels coated with clay sands (clay gravels) shape the rolling landscape of a large part of Saint-Estèphe.

 

Découvrez Château Phélan Ségur

Château Phélan Ségur

En Terre de Saint-Estèphe

Le vignoble du Château Phélan Ségur s’étend sur 70 hectares de magnifiques graves argileuses sur les croupes et plateaux de Saint-Estèphe.

En Terre de Saint-Estèphe

Texte uniquement pour créer un espace et équilibrer la page

Hand harvesting
Gravels

CABERNET SAUVIGNON, LE CEPAGE ROI

Regroupées en quatre grands ensembles, les parcelles jouxtent entre autres les vignes des Châteaux Montrose et Calon Ségur. Les densités de plantation sont élevées. L’encépagement y est original : le talentueux duo médocain (58% de Cabernet Sauvignon et 39% de Merlot) est complété d’une touche de Cabernet Franc et Petit Verdot (1,5% pour chacun). Le Cabernet Sauvignon, cépage roi du Médoc, apporte une puissance et une structure incomparables : il est la colonne vertébrale du Grand Vin.

DIVERSITE DES CEPAGES

Le Merlot exprime cette aimable rondeur et inégalable souplesse. Afin de préserver la diversité et d’apporter ce soupçon d’épices, le Petit Verdot fait son entrée à la propriété en 2015. Il excelle sur des sols plus lourds à dominante argileuse. C’est un cépage de vignerons, fougueux et qui nécessite une parfaite maîtrise. Le Cabernet Franc qui a toujours eu sa place au Château, est un atout précieux dans l’assemblage avec sa finesse et ses notes florales.

Zoom sol

1- Graves humifères à Fontpetite (sommet de buttes)

2- Graves argileuses à Chanchot

3- Graves sableuses à Fontpetite (milieu de pentes)

Overlooking the Gironde

L’estuaire pour horizon

Le  Médoc, caractérisé par la douceur tempérée du climat océanique offre les conditions idéales d’un cycle saisonnier assez franc pour accompagner la croissance annuelle de la vigne et assez doux pour atténuer les excès climatiques. Les vignes du Château Phelan Ségur sont proches de l’estuaire: cette situation les protège d’hivers trop rigoureux et d’étés parfois caniculaires.

La complexité du terroir de Saint-Estèphe dont le Château Phélan Ségur en est une parfaite illustration, est un élément important. Il est composé d’une épaisse couche de graves déposées par le fleuve, il y a plusieurs centaines de milliers d’années. Les galets et surtout les graviers enrobés de sables argileux (graves argileuses) façonnent le paysage vallonné d’une grande partie de Saint-Estèphe.

Découvrez Château Phélan Ségur

Château Phélan Ségur