Ageing

Ageing is a fundamental step at Château Phélan Ségur: understanding of the vintage, judicious selection of coopers, racking from barrel to barrel, regular topping up, requirements and experience of the team in the cellar. Very special and loving care is given to the wines during this complex phase in their development.

Ageing

A cohesive link with the coopers

Once calm is restored after the harvest, the ageing of the Grand Vin, now blended, continues for around 12 more months; at Château Phélan Ségur, the ageing is a fundamental step. The proportion of new barrels never exceeds 50%. Five coopers loyal to the property have contributed their know-how over many years.  While complying with very precise technical specifications, the diversity of their respective products (origin of the wood, drying time, toasting, know-how) express themselves differently each vintage. Oxygen, oak tannins, and the aromas they bring are essential to the stabilisation of the wine and its development. Meticulous topping up of the barrels protects the wine from oxidation.

Hands
Racking "à l'esquive"
Racking

The traditional technique of racking from barrel to barrel

jjj

Manual racking from barrel to barrel, a long and difficult technique, is still carried on. This is now only practised in the greatest châteaux, and takes up nearly all the time of two people throughout the year.  To go further…

nnn

Bottling in the spring

Phélan Ségur 2008

L’élevage

L’élevage est une étape fondamentale au Château Phélan Ségur: compréhension du millésime, sélection pertinente des tonneliers, soutirages à l’esquive, ouillages réguliers, exigence et expérience de l’équipe du Chai. Une attention toute particulière et bienveillante est portée aux vins dans cette phase d’évolution complexe.

L’élevage

Un lien fusionnel avec les tonneliers

Une fois la sérénité retrouvée après les vendanges, l’élevage du Grand Vin, cette fois assemblé, se poursuit pour environ douze mois supplémentaires. Au Château Phélan Ségur, l’élevage est une étape fondamentale. La proportion de barriques neuves n’excède jamais plus de 50%. Cinq tonneliers fidèles à la propriété mobilisent leur savoir-faire depuis de nombreuses années. Tout en répondant à un cahier des charges très précis, la diversité de leurs productions respectives (origine des bois, temps de séchage, « chauffe », savoir- faire) s’exprime différemment à chaque millésime. L’oxygène, les tanins du bois, les arômes apportés sont essentiels pour la stabilisation du vin et son évolution. Un ouillage méticuleux préserve le vin de l’oxydation.

Hands
Racking "à l'esquive"
Racking

La technique traditionnelle du soutirage à l’esquive

Le soutirage à l’esquive, technique traditionnelle longue et contraignante, est perpétué. Celui-ci ne reste pratiqué que dans les plus grands châteaux et mobilise près de deux personnes tout au long de l’année. Pour aller plus loin…

Au printemps, la mise en bouteille

Phélan Ségur 2008